����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

Dream: Destiny
20 June 2010

I was searching the woods with a boy of 13 or 14 for a hidden temple. The boy had shaggy blond hair and wore a simple brown tunic with a rope for a belt. We were questing for a large clear crystal the shape of a sword's blade. I believed the mystical crystal would transform the boy into a superhero, and that he would deliver the land from evil.

It was night, but the moonlight was bright. I knew we were in the right place, but the temple was invisible. I did something to a tree, some kind of magical trick, and the temple was revealed. I started up the steps to enter, but then Nick, Natalie, and Schanke (of Forever Knight) appeared and started trying to talk me out of what I was attempting to do. They told me that I didn't understand what I was doing and that I had to stop. But I was sure that they were the ones who didn't understand, and that what I was doing was right and good. A tall aging wizard appeared to appeal to me as well. He wore a light grey robe and had long white hair and a beard to match. Still, I believed what I was doing was right, and that I was the only one who could help the boy fulfill his destiny.

Soon, they all had their attention on the boy. While they talked with him, I stole up and into the temple. I went straight to the room where I knew the crystal would be. There were many crystals in the room � possibly hundreds, as if to throw off a would-be thief � but I had already discovered what the crystal looked like, so I knew exactly what I was looking for. I took the crystal and threw it through a window, shouting to the boy to take it. It landed on one of the first steps, but he quickly had it. I froze, anticipating an awesome transformation. But nothing happened.

The boy stared at the crystal in his hand, waiting. Then he asked me a series of questions about what should happen and such, but I could only answer over and over, �I don't know.� After the fourth question or so, it became humorous to keep answering with the same, but it was the truth. I no longer knew what to believe. All my beliefs were suddenly turned to questions of my own.

The old wizard suddenly said that I had betrayed him, betrayed everyone, and called me a traitor. Nick, Schanke, and Natalie didn't look forgiving either. On the wall to my left were mounted many swords. I took one in each hand and descended the steps. I walked past everyone, out and away from them so I could keep an eye on them all. Nick and Schanke tried to talk me into dropping my weapons, but I would not be without defense. Natalie suddenly took a sword from the wall and approached me quickly, saying she would fight me if no one else would, and so we fought. She knocked my left hand sword away, but I finally defeated her with the other. I knocked her sword away, and the look on her face showed that she expected to die, but I didn't want to kill her or anyone. I still believed in what I was doing, even if it hadn't worked the way I expected, and I believed what I was doing was for the greater good.

Natalie backed away from me, and then ran to rejoin her friends. Then the boy came to me and said that perhaps the crystal was meant for me. When he held to out to me, I saw that he was wearing black gloves. It occurred to me that it hadn't actually touched his flesh. Urgently, I told him to take off a glove and hold the crystal in that hand. He quickly tried this, but still nothing happened.

At that point, we both gave up on the whole idea. He offered the crystal to me again, but not in any hope. It was over.

I took it from him and just looked at it for a moment. Then I placed it against the blade of my remaining sword, just to see how the blade-shaped crystal would look as a sword. Immediately, the crystal merged with my sword, melted into it. A powerful energy ran from the sword and into my body. I was surrounded and blinded by a bright, electric blue light.

By the time the light around me was finally fading, pandemonium had broken out, and there were many more people there than before. It was all overwhelming. Then all my attention was on one being as he fought those around him. Venger.

He looked toward me and saw that I was coming out of my transformation. As he threw red blasts of destructive energy about him, he shouted at me to fight. He told me I had the power to fight them all off, but I didn't know how to use it. He fought his way toward me and protected me. I understood that I had become what so many dreaded, and that many powerful beings had come to destroy me. Venger slipped his left arm around me protectively as he continued to battle those around us. And Venger was not the only one I saw who was fighting for me. There were many others using magics against magics.

When the fighting had died down, Darth Vader approached us. He said to Venger that my place was with him and to hand me over to him immediately, but Venger wasn't about to let me go. I don't remember what he said to Vader, but Vader quickly backed off and left. And then Venger looked at me and said, �Your destiny is with me.� I felt this was right and true, and I was willing to go with him and trust him. That's all I remember.




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST