����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

Article: Jeff Wong's `Fanfiction.net is a Double-Edged Sword`
22 November 2007

In trying to get myself back online more often, I decided to visit an old favorite: fanfiction.net. In no time at all, I was just as frustrated as I had been months ago when I would browse fics.

It makes me want to pull my hair out, it really does. I've never been able to understand it.

So many stories that are crap on so many levels have such wonderful reviews. Bad style, bad description, typographical errors, wordiness, repetition, useless plot devices, anti-climactic suspense and conflict. Yet it's "great story", "can't wait for more", "awesome writing". I truly believe that some writers are addicted to the praise.

It's so obvious and frustrating that I decided that surely I'm not the only person to have noticed it. So, I actually googled "great reviews but poor writing on fanfiction.net" and found Jeff Wong's "Fanfiction.net is a double-edged sword.". It says it all.

On why poor work gets praise, I feel he's right, on the whole, but I'd like to add a couple ideas. Some people are sucking-up. Others are probably caught in a spot. The writer is a friend, and they're expected to review. So, will it be truth (this sucks!), or keep the friend happy with you (this is great!)? Because who can handle constructive criticism? Flame war, anyone?

Personally, I don't review anymore. Well, once in a blue moon. If the story/writing really was great, and I want the writer to know my opinion. But usually I don't because I don't have the time or energy to deal with any online battles, which would inevitably result. And if not a flame war, it would probably at least be "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't review at all" (if you're not going to shower me with praise, you can go to hell).

I felt I had to write about this because I was so glad to see that I wasn't the only one who saw this constantly happening on ff.net.




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST