����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

A Fan-Fiction Writer's Meme
28 August 2008

I've done memes before. Looking back through any of my diaries' entries and seeing a meme makes me ashamed. It embarrasses me now that I realize how idiotic they were, how foolish I looked actually answering them. I despise memes. I despise the word "meme." I see only two reasons why a person would participate in a meme. Either a person wants to impress someone, or they want to see how many people will follow them in participating in the meme they posted. There's ego, and then there's the follower's mentality. No one truly cares what an individual's answers are. The answers aren't the point.

From what I've seen, it seems the point is to see how many people will give you, a mere link in the meme change, credit as the source.

But I am going to do this meme I found on someone's journal. I'm bored. I found some of the questions to be rather amusing. They are definitely written with the typical fan-fiction writer in mind. Questions aimed at satisfying the fan-fiction writer's ego. Hilarious. Pathetic. Let's begin, shall we?

How about a brief introduction of yourself?

You can refer to me as Rana Kane. It's just a name; it doesn't matter. We must all go by something. There has to be a label to attach to what we produce, online and in real life. We are a species that likes to give names to everything. We even categorize these names, and then give the category a name. I am Rana Kane. That's all you need to know.

Fabulous! And what got you into fanfiction to begin with?

I rediscovered the Dungeons & Dragons cartoon series via a dream I had about Venger. I began searching for fans' sites. I found fan-fiction for the show. I read them. There were some that were very well-written, but most of those were of events that happened totally outside the series. Therefore, they were largely uninteresting to me.

Others were not that well-written. Oh, they had wonderful reviews, though they were filled with every kind of error, from punctuation to plot. I couldn't find a story I could really get into.

One story, I remember, was promising. It sought to explain Venger's relation to Evil. It built up to what I hoped would be a great climax, but then it cheated the reader with a too-quick resolution and a cheap explanation.

The first time I thought of writing fan-fiction for the D&D cartoon, I dismissed the idea, thinking that I wouldn't cut it among the others. I hadn't read a lot of fan-fiction anywhere at that point. I assumed that if someone posted their work to a fan-fiction site, it meant it would be good. I quickly learned this was not at all the case. And the more I read, the more I wished to see something truly visionary. I wanted to see a chapter in which, at the very least, the rules of punctuation had been followed and a spellcheck had been run. I wanted to write the kind of story I wanted to read.

I see, so what kind of fanfiction do you write?

Right now, I'm only writing fan-fiction for the Dungeons & Dragons cartoon. I don't even know if I will care to write for others later.

Do you tend to write the same pairings/characters? Or are you a fandom whore?

I am absolutely not a fandom whore. I do care what the fandom wants to read, sure, but I have to write the kind of story that I personally find interesting.

While we're on the subject of "fandom". . . . "Fandom" is defined as "fans collectively, as of a motion-picture star or a professional game or sport." Just FYI. It seems there are some who think it means the all-inclusive world within a series or movie. This would be correct: Many of the fandom say that Hank is their favorite character. This is incorrect: In the fandom of the show, we discover Venger has a master, referred to as "He Whose Name Cannot Be Spoken."

About pairings, the only pairings I care to write or read are Venger/Sheila, Hank/Sheila, and Eric/Sheila. I have never read a story in which Eric and Sheila were paired, but I hope to write one.

What is your most popular fanfic and why do you think people like it so?

Ah, a question that panders to the vanity of the fan-fiction writer. Even if I had many fanfics published that had many favorable reviews, I wouldn't answer such a question.

Forget other people, what is the fanfic you've written you're most proud of?

Well, I have only one finished at this time, but I'm proudest of Threnody, which is neither finished nor posted. I have only the prologue online presently, but the whole of it is around 50,000 words so far and nowhere near finished. I sometimes read back over certain chapters and I find myself amazed at my own quality of writing, considering how long ago I wrote them � I was a mere beginner back then.

Do you find writing easy? Hard? What are the most difficult aspects of writing you struggle with?

For me, it is easy when I have the time to actually get into the story and am able to concentrate. I don't sleep well. I have a hard time focusing. When I do have energy, I usually have to devote it other things. I am a homeschooling mom with an energetic dog and a husband who isn't very supportive of the idea of my becoming a writer (he can be the macho, "reading/writing is for losers" type sometimes). I'm also the only one who tidies the house and sees to the bills. So, the aspects I struggle with most are finding the time and having the energy to devote to my writing. Real life gets in the way a lot. But real life is far more important than writing fan-fiction. I write when the time available is truly mine. I would never favor writing fan-fiction over spending time with my son or husband (or even the dog), or keeping a clean house.

Write a few sentences or so of your favorite pairing or character.

Sure. Venger/Sheila is my favorite pairing. I remember years ago, a fellow fan-fiction writer, Sealgirl, asked me to explain to her how and why so many fans were Venger/Sheila shippers. She admitted she didn't get it.

I decided not to simply give my own personal reasons for preferring the pairing, but to take actual examples from the series � certain scenes where it could be argued that Sheila was shown to be at least sympathetic toward Venger. All of them are, of course, subject to interpretation. This is how I put it to her:

1. At the end of "The Treasure of Tardos," Sheila says, "Hey, do you think maybe Venger's not all bad?" Just that she dared pose the question, considering what Venger had done to them in the past, speaks for itself.

2. In "The Dragon's Graveyard," she tries, quite emphatically, to talk Hank out of his personal quest against Venger.

3. At the end of the same show, she turns away when Hank looses the arrow she believes will finish Venger.

4. In "Requiem," the group divides after Venger presents them with a quest. Hank doesn't want to follow Venger; Eric does. Diana and Bobby take Hank's side. Presto and Sheila take Eric's side. So, Sheila turns her back on her potential boyfriend, her best friend, and even her own little brother to follow Eric. She chose Venger's side, basically. This, I feel, is the most telling evidence.

5. Now, I don't remember this one very well. (It's been years since I made this list, and it has since been lost.) All I remember is that there was a battle against Venger, and Sheila was the only one who didn't fight. I wish I could cite the episode, but memory fails me.

Now, my favorite character is, of course, Venger. He isn't your typical villain. For one thing, he never breaks into insane laughter, which I appreciate. I love the way he was drawn, his whole overall design. I love his attire. I like the oddity of the single horn. I especially love his voice! The writers seemed to take Venger seriously, as well. He was a villain adults could get into. I also thought Shadow Demon was a suitable agent to have in his employ. Venger's character was made complex through subtle hints and outright revelations. There was certainly more to him than met the eye.

Are there any fanfiction trends/cliches you can't stand or are just sick of?

No clich�s come to mind, but I am highly irritated by the trend of writers posting drabbles. If only they understood how disappointing it is to see a new story that turns out to be a drabble or drabble collection. Lame! The fandom deserves better. In my not-so-humble opinion, drabbles are a waste of time, effort, and online space.

Are you guilty of any of the fanfiction trends/clich�s you now hate? Or any other ones?

Well, you won't catch me writing a drabble. I can guarantee you that much.

What was the first fandom you wrote for? Do you still like/participate in it?

I don't agree with the wording of the first question, but the answer is D&D. I write primarily for myself, but since I share my work, I suppose you could say I do write for the fandom. Yes, I enjoy it very much and participate in it still.

Name your OTP's or most frequently written pairings/characters and explain what it is about them you love to write.

Tell me what an OTP is and maybe I'll answer that part of the question. As for pairings, it's like I mentioned earlier, I prefer Venger/Sheila. Big bad evil (but not entirely) meets small innocent good (but not entirely). It works for me.

What would you call your writing "style"?

I take my writing seriously. So maybe I have a serious writing style. Maybe a dark writing style. OK. Dark and serious? I don't know. Hard to be your own judge.

Do you read other people's fanfic? If so, what do find yourself reading the most?

Yes, I do. I appreciate a fic that goes beyond canon situations, takes it to the next level. I prefer a story that seeks to explain Venger's origins or just goes more deeply in general into Venger's character.

I like a story I can read without being distracted by misspellings and/or punctuation and grammatical errors. I like stories with a credible plot.

Mostly, I like stories where it's obvious that the writer is one who pays attention to important details within the show. I like to see the author's own intelligence come through in the writing. I want to be impressed. I want the next sentence to be unpredictable. I want to be taken into a situation I'd never considered before. So far, there is only one writer who has done that for me.

Name one thing you'd love to write, but have been too afraid or shy to do.

I'm not afraid or shy to write any situation. This question really seems geared toward one particular answer, anyway. Gee, wonder what the person who came up with this question was getting at?

Do you have trouble taking criticism? Or worse yet, do you have the dreaded bloated ego?

No, I don't have trouble taking criticism. Actually, I have received very little criticism, and a majority of that criticism only showed that the person didn't have the best grasp of the art of crafting a story.

I don't believe I have a bloated ego. I'm certainly not an attention-seeker. I'm not a stats-watcher. I couldn't tell you my overall word count, and can't see myself being vain to the point of counting or even mentioning such things. I also don't make grand announcements in multiple places of a latest chapter or newest story. So, no. No bloated ego.

When you write, is there anything that helps? Music? Quiet room?

Sometimes I prefer quiet, sometimes music. Sometimes all I need is the right incense burning. When I write to music, I like to match the music to the scene I'm writing. Perhaps goth metal when writing Venger, or symphonic metal when writing an intense Sheila situation.

What inspires you?

Dare I answer this question truthfully? Why not?

I become inspired to write when I read bad fan-fiction. Just knowing that I can write better than the author I'm reading inspires me to keep writing. It puts me back in the mood. When I am lacking inspiration, all I have to do is pick a fic and read a bit. I read a badly written storyline, and it reawakens me to my own abilities. It restores my confidence in myself.

Lastly, how would you sum up your fanfiction experiences & yourself as a writer?

Fan-fiction.net is rife with poor quality writing. It's difficult to find something truly worthwhile to read. I'm still wanting to understand why some of the very worst writing get such praiseful reviews. Baffles my mind. Would these reviewers recognize good writing if they read it? We may never know.

How would I sum up myself as a writer? Well, I'm slow. I'm a perfectionist when it comes to grammar and punctuation. Sometimes I speed through a scene when I could add more description and atmosphere, but I also don't want to bore the reader or leave absolutely nothing to a reader's own imagination. I take a lot of time considering how well-balanced my plot is. I don't want to give too much away, but I also don't want to hold so much back that it can't be followed. But, these are things that improve the more one writes.

Tag some friends, because they'll hate you for it.

Oh, so you're aware of how annoying tagging can be? I would never be so inconsiderate and intrusive.




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST