����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

Tips, Tricks, & Things I Don't Want to See in Your Writing: VAGUENESS
08 December 2008

I'm going to be forthright about this. It is annoying, as opposed to impressive, when an author keeps characters' identities vague at the beginning of a story � especially when done in fan-fiction where the characters one goes to such lengths to mask are the stars of the show and there's no reason for their identities to be a mystery!

Why can't your readers know which characters are opening act one? Why is that a such a mystery? I have never seen the withholding of names as being essential to anyone's plot so far.

Point #1: When I see "he" and "she," or "him" and "her," opening a story. . . . Well, my first feeling is eye-rolling frustration, and I don't even want to look at it anymore. I don't like an author trying to play games with me. When I do decide to trudge on, here's what happens:

I'm forced to see black silhouettes (either with or without boobs) performing the actions. I'm following strangers for all I know. I'm having to save up the story in my mind so I can, hopefully soon, apply names to actions. When it is finally revealed that I was following, say, Eric and Presto, I often have to go back and reread, replacing the hes and hims with their names so I can make sense of what's happened so far. Let me be clear here, I do not enjoy doing that!

Point #2: I have seen this so many times. Depending on my mood, I either giggle or feel offended.

How often have you, dear reader, had to deal with this (and I'm relating my examples to D&D, though it happens everywhere)?:

You're reading a new fic, and you know all the characters (duh, fans read fan-fiction), yet the author is using descriptions in place of names � at least for the "introductory" mentions.

Hank could be "the blond with the bow."
Eric might be "the raven/black-haired youth."
Diana, perhaps, "the dark-skinned girl."
Sheila is "the red-head."
Presto is often "the bespectacled youth." (cringes)
Bobby could be "the boy/child with the club."

And I still find one every now and then where you'll see the canon characters' titles connected to their names on their first mentions: NAME the TITLE (for example, "Hank the Ranger").

And I'm thinking, why do I have to sit through this? I wouldn't be reading this D&D fan-fiction if I were not a D&D fan, and as a D&D fan, I know the characters' names, titles, and what they freakin' look like! Please, simple "Hank" is fine. Just "Eric" will do. OK?




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST