����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

Dream: 330 A.V. (After Venger)
08 March 2007

Venger and I were running down a deserted highway with only fields of dead grass on both sides. Over the highway was a thickening purple mist. As we ran through the mist, I sensed danger ahead and told Venger we had to run the other way. Either he didn't hear me or didn't care for my advice since he kept running in the same direction.

Out of the mist ahead of us appeared a huge black bat with a body as big as a man's. Venger and I turned and ran the way we had come, but there was another bat behind us. Somehow, Venger managed to pin the second one to the road; the first kept its distance flying around us.

This second bat had the head of a man. His face was pale and his hair was long and very red. It seems we asked him where we were and why they were chasing us. I don't remember his answer, but whatever he said alarmed me. I suddenly wanted very much to know how much time had passed. It seemed clear that we had traveled far into the future without knowing it.

I said, "How many years have passed since�" I realized I needed a point of reference. I thought for a second, and then looked at Venger, figuring that surely his name would be remembered through the ages. Venger then looked up at me in such a way that it was like he knew what I was thinking, and then he nodded ever so slightly as if agreeing with my reasoning and giving permission to use his name. "�since the days of Venger?" I finished.

The man with a bat's body, whose attention had been fixed upon the black-winged (and one-horned) being holding him down, finally looked over at me with a shocked expression. I knew he recognized the name, though he obviously didn't know him by sight. With his eyes moving repeatedly from me to Venger, he said, "It has been...over 300 years."

In my mind, I saw the number 330, as if that was a more correct estimate. I looked at the first bat, that had no human qualities, as he hovered nearby, and tried to figure out what to do next. Then I woke up.




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST