����������������������������������������������������

RECENTLY POSTED:
20 April 2012: Featured Art: altered Avengers movie poster
19 September 2011: Featured Videos: The Grumpy Celt Speaks: "Grumpy RPG Reviews" - Dungeons & Dragons
18 September 2011: Featured Art: Venger by Ian Mullen
10 July 2011: Featured Art: Venger by ryanbnjmn
30 April 2011: Update: Salvation Chapter 20 posted - Why Venger became Venger.

Dream: Venger, Professor of Ancient History
08 March 2007

I had just gotten out of a class and was walking down the hall to exit the building through the glass doors. I knew I had Ancient History next, but it depended on the weather whether or not Professor Venger would be there. On sunny days, it was a sure thing that we wouldn't be having class. On stormy or cloudy/overcast days, he would be there. That day, it was hard to judge, however. It was partly cloudy, though the sky was still quite bright, but the sun would peek through now and then. I decided to look for his vehicle. I knew he drove a gray truck, which I did find parked in its usual place behind the building where he taught.

As I walked back around the front steps of the building, I started singing a silly song that I was making up on the spot. It went "Venger, Venger, where are you? Your truck is here and the skies aren't blue..." There were a couple more lines to my ditty, but I can't remember them. I do remember another student stopping me on the stairs and asking me if our professor was in. When I told him I saw his truck, he seemed a bit nervous, but made it to class.

I was still humming when I took my seat. I can't picture what I was wearing, but I remember it was rather seductive and it wouldn't have bothered me at all if our professor took notice.

Venger's desk was broad and made of dark wood. There were two rows of long black tables where the students sat. Looking towards Venger's desk, I was at the first table in the right row, in the chair along the center aisle. Venger wasn't there yet and the room was abuzz with talk. No one could hear my humming.

Even when Venger finally came in, everyone continued to talk. Class hadn't officially started yet so this was fine, but it was getting louder. So I started singing, rather than humming, as I was being drowned out anyway. I was watching Venger get his papers and books organized as I sang. The tune was something close to Evanescence's "Bring Me To Life," but not quite.

I was surprised at my voice. I was singing beautifully and was hitting some impressive notes. I honestly didn't mean for the professor to hear me -- I didn't think he could over the noise -- but then he looked up at me. The sudden attention was such a shock that I stopped singing and just looked back at him. His eyes were entrancing, so blue and sharp. I couldn't look away. I was mesmerized.

But the spell was broken when two tall, hooded guards came in from a side door, shoving a prisoner in chains in front of them. The prisoner wasn't wearing a shirt and I could see he was quite muscular. The guards forced him to stand on the table to my left and one guard whipped him. I remember thinking that there was no reason for such brutality; the prisoner wasn't being unruly. Anyway, this interruption was obviously something that couldn't wait. The guards needed to know what Venger wanted done with him now.

Before Venger could give them instructions, something unexpected happened. All the students in the room started yelling and throwing chairs and books and such at the guards. They were rioting. So what did I do? I started singing again. I felt separate from the riot, like an invisible observer. I was calmly walking through the chaos of overturned tables and chairs, students fighting and screaming, papers flying all over as I sang a song that was faster and suited to the destruction happening around me. I was supplying a soundtrack only I could hear, it seemed. I found it all very interesting, but then I woke up.




[LATEST ENTRY] [PREVIOUS ENTRY] [NEXT ENTRY]

[main and mouseover banners created by Wolfman]

Get notified of new entries in your inbox!
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List

















HOST